House of Representatives For 147th General Assembly Sworn In; Pete Schwartzkopf Becomes Speaker Of House

Jan 08, 2013 -- 7:03pm

All 41 members of the House of Representatives were sworn in today to begin the 147th Delaware General Assembly. This year's House features nine new Representatives, the most in recent memory, according to Representative Helene Keely. Of the nine new Representatives, three are Republicans from Sussex County. Steve Smyk (new 20th District, Lewes, Milton, Harbeson), Tim Dukes (40th District, Laurel, Delmar), who's taking over for the retired "Biff" Lee, and Ron Gray (38th District, Quiet Resorts area), who takes over the seat vacated by now-Senator Gerald Hocker.

Pete Schwartzkopf (D-Rehoboth) was sworn in as Speaker of the House. Among his guests in the House chamber was former Speaker Robert Gilligan, who retired at the end of the last General Assembly in June after 40 years in the House. Gilligan was greeted with a standing ovation when he was introduced. Schwartzkopf thanked Gilligan for being a mentor to him, and for being a good friend.

During the swearing-in ceremony, the students and educators who were killed in last month's shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut were remembered during a moment of silence.

Return to: WGMD Local News Blog

George Noory


Coming Up
Wall Street Journal This Weekend, 5:00 a.m. - 6:00 a.m.